LoginRegister Swiss Asia US UK

Job Search

Visa Requirements

Countries in the EU and EEA

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 28 countries. It operates an internal (or single) market which allows free movement of goods, capital, services and people between member states.

EU countries

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia*, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

* Croatia has additional info.

The European Economic Area (EEA)

The EEA includes EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. It allows them to be part of the EU’s single market.

Switzerland is neither an EU or EEA member but is part of the single market - this means Swiss nationals have the same rights to live and work in the UK as other EEA nationals.

British Overseas Territories Citizens

The following British Overseas Territories Citizens are not subject to UK immigration control (but must have a British passport endorsed British Citizen):

  • Anguilla
  • Falkland Islands
  • Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Bermuda
  • Gibraltar
  • St Helena and Dependencies
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • Montserrat
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Pitcairn
  • Turks & Caicos Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Henderson
  • Virgin Islands

For information obtaining a work permit or Visa please see www.ind.homeoffice.gov.uk/workingintheuk

Home Office - www.ind.homeoffice.gov.uk
Working visas - www.workpermit.co.uk
Foreign & Commonwealth Office (London) - www.fco.gov.uk

back to top